ASA Learn to Swim - Stage 5

In Stage 5 of the ASA Learn to Swim Framework, swimmers will focus on swimming all four strokes to the ASA expected standards. Swimmers will also develop skills in sculling, treading water and complete rotation.


By the end of Stage 5 of the ASA Learn to Swim Framework, pupils should have reached 12 outcomes. Swimmers should complete these outcomes without support:

1. Perform a horizontal stationary scull on the back

2. Perform a feet first sculling action for 5 metres whilst horizontal on the back

3. Perform a sculling sequence with a partner for 30-45 seconds to include a rotation

4. Tread water for 30 seconds

5. Perform three different shaped jumps into deep water

6. Swim 10 metres backstroke

7. Swim 10 metres front crawl face in the water

8. Swim 10 metres breaststroke

9. Swim 10 metres butterfly

10. Perform a handstand and hold for a minimum of three seconds

11. Perform a forward somersault, tucked, in the water

12. Demonstrate an action for getting help

back to top